Cup to the Cake…

Wednesday night was our Mary Kay Fall Product Preview and I made Raspberry Red Velvet Cupcakes! They were quite the hit with the consultants and guests alike. I was so worried that they would be too dry or something wouldn’t taste right because I didn’t have the chance to try it beforehand. I’m just glad everyone enjoyed them.

cupcakes in the making!

I found a recipe from Pinterest and had at it. This is the original Red Velvet Cupcake recipe that I used.  I am not that talented to develop my own recipe as complex as that, so props to her.

The secret ingredient…

I used about three bottles of partly full red food dye and it was still not enough! It called for 3 tablespoons and I had about 2 and a quarter… I figured it would be plenty of red, so I thought it would be fun to add some flavor to the mix… enter raspberry flavoring. My mom has about 20 bottles of flavoring like this, so I was lucky that there was one that meshed well with the red velvet and chocolate…

I got these in the Christmas clearance section… can’t beat 50 cents!

I like to shop the clearance section after Christmas and other holidays. These muffin tins are one of my finds… aren’t these normally about 2 bucks or more?

right before oven time!

I used a small cookie scoop and tried my best to be really neat and not goop the batter all over like I normally do…

cake decorating tips, bags, and directions!

My mom is really into cake decorating and took Wilton decorating classes, so we have TONS of stuff like this… It came with directions, so I felt empowered that I could do it too. That and all the cake decorating stuff I’ve been pinning lately…

The decorating kit came with some tips, one for putting filling in the cupcakes! I was pretty excited about that, so I decided to give it a go.

The delicious chocolate raspberry filling…

The filling was actually just the same cream cheese frosting in the recipe, except with a little added cocoa powder. Making it chocolate was my sister’s idea… I also added more raspberry flavoring to the frosting. I love chocolate raspberry anything, so this was heavenly.

bags of frosting… yum

All frosted!

I’m pretty impressed with myself that they turned out so well! When I think of frosting cupcakes, I think of this time that I made Red Velvet Cupcakes with a bad recipe and then proceeded to frost them all crazy and ridiculous colors and flavors…. It was quite the colorful mess.

and the chocolate ones… because I ran out of the vanilla

fabulous…

This is the dress I wore to the Product Preview. I got it at Goodwill of all places…I had no idea what I would wear such a thing to, but I couldn’t pass it up. It reminds me of The Great Gatsby, aka one of my favorites.

4 thoughts on “Cup to the Cake…

  1. Thank you for the blog post. Jones and I have been saving for a new e-book on this issue and your blog post has made all of us to save money. Your thoughts really answered all our issues. In fact, more than what we had thought of prior to when we came across your great blog. I no longer have doubts including a troubled mind because you have really attended to our own needs in this post. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

