Emotional Organizing

My latest task has been organizing my life… well at least my basement. Here is the evidence…

This was the scary part… the basement at the beginning

full view….

Those frightening photos are the “before” of my basement. It literally took me all day to make a considerable dent! After I graduated college, I had bins upon bins of dorm room and cooking things. The easiest way to deal? Throw it all in the basement where no one will see it… can you blame a college kid?

I definitely have too much stuff!

I still have a bit of work to do, but all in all, it was a success. I got rid of tons of clothes that I was hoarding, some with sentimental value mostly from high school, and some that I thought I might need for later. If I don’t use or wear them now, I probably never will.

I got rid of a lot of stuff too! That’s my pup, Toby hanging out…

This kind of reminds me of helping my friend, Jamie clean out her room at her parent’s house before she moved out to her own digs. We ended up with about the same amount of stuff in garbage bags to donate. It looks like I am also guilty of not throwing things out!

All off to Goodwill!

I’m hoping all my stuff will be put to good use instead of sitting in my basement! Also, as the basement is still a work in progress, I will post the “after” photos when it’s completely done.

Books that I donated or sold…

I also went through my bookcase and got rid of all of the old philosophy textbooks, literature class materials, and other books that I won’t read again. First I took about three boxes worth to Half Price Books to see how many they would buy and I was pleasantly surprised… $42! The rest of the ones that didn’t sell, I took to the Delafield Library so others can read them.

All those books came off of here! So much better!

It’s so nice to see more of my green walls behind my bookshelf. I really hate clutter, but I find it really hard to get rid of things, so this was very monumental.

I finally got rid of this purse… darn sentimental value…

It’s amazing what we hold onto because of sentimental value or the emotions attached to something. I’ve had this purse forever and I finally got rid of it. I just got it when Brian and I started hanging out more, just before we started dating more than four years ago. I remember I went to this astronomy presentation which was incredibly boring and I kept thinking about how Brian’s knee touched mine while we were listening to this astronomer drone on. It sounds so silly, but every time I went through my stuff to get rid of more things, I couldn’t bring myself to get rid of this purse. It’s not something I would ever use again, but I couldn’t do it. Until now.

It helped to think of how getting rid of a majority of this stuff would benefit Brian and I when we move into our own apartment next year. How much easier moving will be if I don’t have tons of stuff. How much more beautiful our new place would be if it wasn’t cluttered. This is what keeps me moving forward and ready toss the unnecessary.

4 thoughts on “Emotional Organizing

Leave a Reply

