New is Always Better…

So this weekend I went to an estate sale down the street and I found TONS of furniture! Needless to say, it is all in my grandparents workshop and family room now… I figure Brian and I can use it when we move out in June/July… now all we need is a TV for the living room! Well, and an apartment…

Now we have two love seats, a five-piece bedroom set including two dressers, a nightstand, a mirror and a bed… the bed isn’t the right size, but it’s just nice to have an extra one for any possible guests… who knows if we’ll have room though.

The metal chairs really need some love, so I think I want to repaint the frame black and then add green cushions or something… cute, right?

My grandma modeling one of the love seats…

Mirror…

Tall dresser…

Wide dresser…

“everything…” dressers, nightstand, and bed in the back

The other couch…

metal chairs that realllllyy need some reupholstering…

metal chairs…

my cute grandparents…

That last picture was just for fun… the sun was kind of in their eyes, but anyway…

Oh, I also found some other cute/vintage things at the estate sale… some earrings, an old bottle of sour mash that has gold etching on it and says “old fitzgerald,” and this neat sweater storage thing… I most definitely got the bottle because of my obsession with The Great Gatsby… no lie.

On a side note, I can’t wait until Christmas this year because… The Great Gatsby movie is coming out!!! I love the 1920s.. the fashion, technology differences, the mystique… Most of me is super excited, but then there’s part of me that is scared it will suck and ruin my favorite book… So, we shall see. I just hope that I am not disappointed!

I have a new favorite beer… pomegranate lager… I went to the Delafield Brewhaus last night after work for a beer with some friends and they had it there. It isn’t too sweet like Leinie’s Berry Weiss and it’s just plain good! I know I’m not describing it very much, but you just have to go get one yourself… I know it’s a seasonal beer, so I don’t know how long they have it out for, but I’m really hoping that I can get it for my wedding…

Tonight I get to hang out with my bestie and she is kidnapping me… I’m meeting her after work and then she has something planned and won’t tell me what. I need to figure out how to get the film in my Hanimex Praktica so I can start taking photos again… that is my new endeavor. I have been admiring lomography from a girl I went to high school with and lomo from the internet. I figured it’s time I pick up my camera again and start shooting film again. I took a film photography class at UW-Waukesha back in 2007-ish and I have a pretty good collection of vintage cameras from my grandma. I know there’s a Diana in there and I want to load it up with film and see what happens… It’s just something that I really miss… What are your experiences with lomography (or photography)?

New is always better… that’s what Barney from How I Met Your Mother always says.. I thought it was fitting because everything in this post is about something new… “new” (to me) furniture, new beer, new movie, new adventures, new camera endeavors… new is exciting, invigorating, renewing. New things have the power to change us.

“There are as many worlds as there are kinds of days, and as an opal changes its colors and its fire to match the nature of a day, so do I.” ~John Steinbeck

One thought on “New is Always Better…

Leave a Reply

