One Year From Today….

Wow! Time has certainly flown past! In exactly one year, I will marry Brian. I really hate hearing other people’s mushy-gushy love stories about how they met their prince charming or whatever, so I am going to do my best not to do that here. That aside, Brian really is my other half and I am so excited to marry him. 

This post is really just meant to update on what I have done already for wedding planning. Oh, fun. Planning can be fun, but other times I really wish I didn’t have to worry about any of this and we could just be married and done with it. 

The one thing I’ve been having the most trouble with is the bridesmaid dresses, but I saw this going into the planning process… all of my bridesmaids have different body types, things that look good on them, things they like, things they hate, etc. So it has been quite the task trying to find something for any of them. I went with Michelle once and she tried some on and we found a couple that were okay, but nothing really impressed me. I also went with Jamie, who has very specific tastes in bridesmaid dresses, not that I blame her, and we didn’t really find much. Well, I guess you could say we found the perfect dress if my color was peacock green and the theme was a little burlesque… le sigh. 

Let’s move on to the stuff I have covered already… I have my dress, church booked, reception hall booked, menu picked out, color scheme picked out, DJ picked, flowers picked out, guest book bought and photographers booked.

I went New Year’s Eve 2011 with Ashley, Michelle and Emily to look at wedding dresses and I knew that it was the one… ivory lace over champagne silk with a vintage feel.

The ceremony is going to be at Brian’s church in Sussex. The reception is at the Delafield Brewhaus which is less than five minutes from my house. The menu is going to be a sit-down Italian dinner (things like eggplant/chicken parmesan and pasta up the wazoo!) with house beer from the Brewhaus. Michelle is a little appalled that I’m going to be drinking beer in my wedding dress, but I don’t care because I like beer and it’s my wedding… 

Mark Burdette is going to be our DJ. I’m excited for that because he is the life of the party and I know it will be a good time.

The color scheme is kelly green (for the bridesmaid dresses) and tangerine, daffodil, coral for the flowers and other details and gray is the neutral for the groomsmen’s suits. For the bouquets it’s going to be orange, yellow and coral dahlias, for the boutonnieres it’s either little white tulips or orange and yellow tulips. The corsages are going to be more dahlias. Not completely sure about the centerpieces, but I’m thinking more little tulips to match the bouts.

Our photographers are Kellen and Ashley Perlberg from Weeno Photography. They are the most talented husband and wife team that I know. I was so torn when choosing a photographer because they charge more than the other photographer I was looking at from Waukesha, but they are also that much more talented. But I am so glad that we decided to go with them because I think I would’ve regretted it if I didn’t. They are actually doing our wedding for free now because of a mix-up on the date. They are growing their business and are part of the northwest branch of a national photography business. They accidentally scheduled another wedding through the national business on our original date of July 6, 2013, but they offered that if we could change the date, they would do it for us, no charge. I was so surprised and thankful for their generosity that we changed our date to July 13, 2013, one week after the original date. 

I have been researching several different options for invitations throughout the process. I met with Jessica from Clark Creative and she designed some sample invitations, but they are going to be too expensive and they’re not exactly what I like. I looked at Olympia Invitations and they have soooo many different ones in binders that you can order! I went with grandma one afternoon and we probably looked through 5 different binders, but nothing really stood out to me. I also looked at wedding paper divas online which might be a stronger option, but I’m not sure they have things in my color scheme. I also mentioned something to Shelley about designing them for me since she is a graphic design major. So she might do something, but I’m not sure yet. I think it would be so cute to do something with buttons on the invitations since the guestbook is kelly green with white buttons on it.

So that, for now is what our wedding looks like. Any suggestions or ideas, let me know because right now I’m all ears. Image

Leave a Reply

